Social discovery platform and network for entertainment, tourism and city experiences.

SCHEDULE

June 3, 2020
Please select timeslot to attend

INFO

Revisit Camille A. Brown’s ink: a celebration of African American social dance. Were you there? Direct from NYC, award winning dancer and choreographer Camille A. Brown presents ink, a celebration of African-American dance. The performance explores the rituals, gestural vocabulary, and traditions ingrained within the lineage of the African Diaspora. Start times: 8pm UAE (GMT+4) 5pm UK / Nigeria USA start times: 12pm Eastern 11am Central 10am Mountain 9am Pacific For one time only, revisit this highlight from The Arts Center’s archives, filmed in The Red Theater on April 25, 2019. Bridge the distance, join the community online. In collaboration with Music Director Allison Miller, percussionist Wilson Torres, violinist Juliette Jones, and composer/pianist Scott Patterson, ink is the final installation of Brown’s dance theatre trilogy about identity (along with “Mr. TOL E. RAncE”- 2012, “BLACK GIRL: Linguistic Play” – 2015). Together, using the rhythms and sounds of traditional African and handmade instruments as its center, the work travels through time with elements of Blues, Hip-Hop, Jazz, and Swing. This musical landscape embodies its own storytelling. The movement is an amalgamation of African-American social dance, African, Tap, Jazz, Modern, and Hip-Hop. Through self-empowerment, Black love, brotherhood, exhaustion and resilience, community and fellowship, ink depicts the pedestrian interactions of individuals and relationships as grounds for accessing one’s innate super powers and finding liberation. Bridge the distance, join the community online. This event will be live streamed from our Facebook Page for free. See you online.

INTERESTED LIST

Be the first and others will follow

EXPERIENCES

RATINGS & REVIEWS

(0)

Nothing here yet. Be the first

INQUIRIES

Interact with the Organizer and other attendees here

ORGANIZER PHOTOS

LOCATION New York University Abu Dhabi - Saadiyat Marina District - Al Sa'DiyatSaadiyat Marina District - Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates

SOCIALIZE

With like-minded people through idenity hashtags

ORGANIZE EVENTS & ACTIVITIES!

share your reviews and experiences for a better and interactive SCENE community for you and others.

#BetterTogether

Your kind of scenes with your kind of people! Connect with both organizers and attendees!